New Moon Forecast: Mystical Energy and Right Action

Image by Lucy Campbell

Every week or so, the motion of the planets alters our reception of physical, emotional, mental, and spiritual energy. (Think of the planets as filters or colored orbs.) They can bring harmony, conflict, or combinations of emotions, which bring struggle or ease. In general, my forecasts share the meanings of the combination of planetary energies. Honestly, no one knows exactly how we will feel the shifts because the planet is changing with the constant influx of new energies.

The New Moon appears on Saturday, March 17 at 9:11 a.m. During this time, we rest in the void and focus on the future while waiting for the light to return. It is good to center so we can find our way in the “dark.

Sun, Moon, Neptune, and Chiron are placed in Pisces, which offers nurturing, healing, mysticism, and unconditional love. With many planets in water, we can feel intense emotion, and it’s important to channel it into spiritual growth and devotion. Think of the fishes swimming in two directions.

With Mercury (communications), Venus (love), and Mars (action) in fire signs, we’ll receive a strong impulse to act on our thoughts and passions. But this forecast is about alignment and balance. It’s important to take (only) inspired action that comes from the inner self—and to balance it with periods of rest.

Sun (outer self) and Moon (inner self) in Pisces sit in a lovely trine with Jupiter (good fortune) in Scorpio. Trines are harmonious and creative; they also confer ease with manifestation. This aspect indicates a beneficial relationship between a focus on the mystical and a desire to see the truth beneath the surface—which is part of the spiritual quest. (This trine is formed by water and emphasizes the value of flowing, positive emotions.)

Mercury (communications), Venus (feminine, love, material possessions) and Uranus (spiritual change, awakening) are placed in Aries, a forceful fire sign, which focuses on moving forward—the opposite direction of Sun and Moon. Mercury (communications) is quick, brilliant, and active in Aries. This placement gives power with words, writing, and communication. It heightens the imagination and produces new ideas. Mercury in Aries is also passionate. It longs to move into new spaces of the mind and life. (Think of traveling to Mars. It’s a perfect Mercury in Aries idea.)

Venus (feminine, material possessions, love) is independent and bold in Aries. The “warrior” energies are not compatible with Venus’ desire to love, flow, and beautify. Venus in Aries can act in a self-centered way, preferring love for self to loving others. However, Aries is the first sign in the astrological wheel, indicating the possibility of beneficial, new beginnings in love, money, and self-awareness.

Mercury (communications, mind) and Venus (love, feminine) square Saturn, asking us to curb the desire to act with a sense of responsibility. It simply means to give pause to our strong thoughts and feelings about relationships and to think before acting.

Mars (assertiveness, male energy) is placed in Sagittarius, and it is adventurous in the sign of the archer. It’s expansive and confident, yearning for new frontiers. It amplifies our spiritual vision and gives power to delve into spiritual pursuits.

Sun (outer life) and Moon (inner life) square Mars (male energy, assertion) in Sagittarius. The square creates tension between the desire to absorb spiritual energy through a passive state (Pisces) and to seek wisdom through action and/or a quest. (We need both.)

Mars (masculine, action) trines Uranus in Aries, increasing the desire for action. It sharpens the instincts and gives the urge to focus on projects, work, and the body. Think of it as intensified drive. Again, the caution is to think before acting and to remember the value of contemplative thought and living.

Jupiter (good fortune, expansion) sits in Scorpio, a water sign that rules birth, death, sex, and inheritance. In this placement, Jupiter in Scorpio asks for review of obstacles in life and to move through our fears. The ultimate aim is expansion of all that is good in us. (Jupiter moved retrograde on March 12, allowing us to review goals and life progress to create greater abundance and expansion.)

Saturn is in Capricorn, the goat, and asks for review of the structures in our life and the creation of a new foundation in life. Everything looks and works differently in the New Age; it’s important to recreate ourselves as well. This also includes financial, physical, and social systems. Saturn also rules career and resources; it can be limiting or protective.

Mercury (communications, mind), Venus (love, feminine), and Uranus (awakening, sudden change) square Pluto (regeneration, underworld). These squares indicate the importance of observing the desire for motion and action with the structure of concrete change that supports the growth of the inner self. (Brilliant, new ideas are only helpful when they work for the good of self.)

The square between Uranus and Pluto continues for a few more months. It continually moves between the ecstatic sensation of awakening and the darkness of the underworld. When we decide to move through our underlying fears, life changes quite drastically—and in a very positive sense.


Julia Griffin, Intuitive healer and coach





Julia Griffin, intuitive healer and owner of One True Self, began her work fifteen years ago under the tutelage of real wolves. Following their direction, Julia sees and reads energy, including animals, plants and people. She works with people in session to find their resonance with the soul, clearing patterns and alignment with their inner path.


  1. Dear Julia,
    thank you for your profound insights. I really appreciate your concise and clear expression in your writing. And everything you say resonates with me as truth. I’m very happy to have come upon you.

    Best wishes,

    Jessica Millard

Leave a Reply