The New Moon appears on April 8 at 2:20 pm ET. It’s followed by a solar eclipse at approximately 3 pm. All seven planets will be visible and in close alignment for eclipse, which intensifies the energy (and likely exerts a pull on the Earth). The New Moon/Eclipse marks a time of moving more deeply into the New Age through the aspect of Jupiter (expansion, good fortune) conjunct Uranus (sudden change, transformation). It marks a time of change, which may come as an opportunity for deeper awakening, which provides a pathway into the inner self. (Uranus rules discovery, new events, and change, and Jupiter rules expansion and positive events. Uranus is placed in Taurus, an earth sign, and we are likely to continue to experience earth changes.) The conjunction is direct, meaning the planets are in close alignment at the time of the eclipse.

With five planets in Aries, it’s a fiery, dramatic chart, and it’s fitting for the solar eclipse. Sun (life), Moon (emotions), Mercury (communication), Venus (love, partnerships) and Chiron (the wounded healer) sit in Aries. Aries is the beginning of the astrological wheel, and many astrologers believe the solar eclipse acts as a gateway for higher consciousness–a new beginning into an excursion into the New World. In short, it presents an open door for higher consciousness. Many astrologers see the eclipse as a gateway into a new world that involves living intuitively with heightened awareness.

The sign of Aries is a creative, passionate fire sign. Its strength lies in beginning projects, a sense of enthusiasm, boldness, and a sharp mind. With the eclipse in Aries, it’s important to refrain from anger and frustration, which are two negative qualities of the sign. The caution lies in refraining from expressions of the ego, trying to do too many things quickly, and finding a slower pace through life.  (The soul makes itself known in inner contemplation and stillness, which is needed during this transitional time.)

Moon (emotion) in Aries gives spontaneity, passion, and creativity. It increases assertion and the desire to succeed through achievement of goals. Moon in Aries brings the tendency to ignite or increase misunderstanding and to act in an impulsive way. Patience and tolerance are needed to balance the Arian energy.

Sun (life) and Moon (emotion) conjunct Mercury (communication). Sun conjunct Mercury increases sharpness of mind and quickens thoughts. It provides new perspectives and helps with solving old problems from a different point of view. Moon conjunct Mercury expands emotional sensitivity, increases the tendency to reminiscence, and may cause mood swings. It can also heighten intuition and creativity. It’s important to express emotions accurately through speech, writing, and creativity.

Mercury (communication) is retrograde in Aries, asking for patience and a slower pace. It wants us to glide through life by finding the zone of connection with the All/One—and to trust that life is opening us up to a larger, beneficial flow. Mercury aligns with Chiron (the wounded healer) three times, and it asks for speaking from the heart, healing our communication by speaking in a neutral manner, and deep understanding of how trauma may have influenced our self-expression. (Can you speak in the voice of your inner self?) Mercury square Pluto (subconscious, transformation) requires tolerance, kindness, and neutrality. It presents situations that can cause a defensive attitude, which relates to subconscious patterns. The challenge lies in recognizing how we shape and perceive life through old patterns and transforming our underlying beliefs.

Venus (love, relationships) in Aries is passionate, bold, and spontaneous. With this placement, it’s important to spend time and energy on the people we love most. Venus in Aries can deepen love and connection. It also affects money, and it’s important to invest money wisely—and not overspend. Venus conjunct Neptune (illusion, mysticism) will make life feel and look more beautiful. It heightens creativity, sensitivity, and artistic ability; it can also give feelings of laziness and tiredness. Venus sextile Pluto (underworld, transformation) deepens intensity and the desire for love. It emphasizes the importance of companionship and partnership, and the aspect can heighten self-understanding, aiding with transformation and growth.

Mars (assertion, male, energy) in Pisces delivers an odd combination of the desire to rest and the need for action. Think of the symbol of Pisces – two fishes swimming in opposite directions. Fortunately, Mars in Pisces also stimulates the imagination and creativity while inspiring new methods of creating success. Mars.  Mars in sextile to Jupiter (expansion, good fortune) gives strength, courage, confidence, and good luck. It supports our instincts and willingness to take risks. Mars conjunct Saturn (limitation, karma) gives additional strength and courage as well as perseverance to complete actions with goals. It may intensify anger and frustration.

Jupiter (expansion) in Taurus marks the need to accumulate worldly goods, and it also refers to how we interact with the Earth and her resources. Jupiter sextiles Saturn (limitation, karma) brings balance, harmony, and expansion. It can increase optimism and increase success when accompanied by a realistic outlook.


Sun (life), Moon (emotions), and Mercury (communications) conjunct Chiron, the wounded healer, marking a time for recovery from childhood trauma, life events, and the patterns that limit positive self-expression and success. Ask yourself what lies beneath the patterns and work to discover and clear old emotions.


  1. Find your way to your Inner Self. Imagine how it could feel to live in a higher frequency world with wonderful energy. Imagine your dreams coming true.
  2. Resist the feelings of rushing, pushing, or trying to get too much done at once. Stay out of the ego and stay humble. It’s a wonderful thing to listen to others and forget about yourself for a while.
  3. Be prepared for earth changes over the next few months. Think about the universe and its presence. Stay safe through your connection.
  4. Enjoy the eclipse and its alteration of current energies.
  5. See the immense beauty of life and let it flow through you.



Julia Griffin, Intuitive Healer and Coach

Julia Griffin, intuitive healer and owner of One True Self, began her work fifteen years ago under the tutelage of real wolves. Following their direction, Julia sees and reads energy, including animals, plants and people. She works with people in session to find their resonance with the soul, clearing patterns and alignment with their inner path. If you would like to seek additional spiritual change and insight into your life, please contact me for information about an intuitive session.


  1. Denise Gant 🌞

    I’m TOTALLY feeling this. Thanks for the words to go with!!!

    • Julia Griffin

      Thanks so much, Denise. Thank you for letting me know. Much appreciated.

  2. dee

    Your articles are so very helpful to understand the changing energies & they affect us.

    Thank you for sharing your wisdom & insights.

    • Julia Griffin

      You’re welcome, Dee. Thanks so much for commenting! I appreciate it.


Submit a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *